No such thing as too much Vogue

I can’t believe it’s been nearly two weeks since I have written a post! Oh how I have missed it! From now on, I’m going to make it my aim to write at least twice a week, so stay tuned!

First of all, I want to say a huge thank you to everyone that has followed me on this journey, there’s nearly 700 of you and I wish I could thank you all personally.

For this post, I thought I’d share with you a couple of books that I am loving at the moment. I’m not a huge book reader, but since I got lots of books for Christmas, I’ve had a lot to get through!

Inside Vogue: A Diary Of My 100th Year

inside-vogue

Back in September last year, BBC 2 released a programme called Absolutely Fashion: Inside British Vogue. In the programme, a film crew followed Editor-in-Chief Alexandra Shulman to find out what Vogue is really all about and how much hard work goes into producing the issue every single month. It gives wannabes like me an insight on what really goes on behind the magazine cover and what it would be like to work in the industry.

A month later, Alexandra Shulman released the book, Inside Vogue: A Diary of My 100th Year. So of course, I had to have it. It’s a great read and I would 100% recommend it to any Vogue lovers like me. It is basically a hard copy of Alexandra’s diary from the year of Vogue’s 100th year, so it’s a lot more personal than the TV programme which is great because you get her personal opinion and thoughts on what’s going on in Vogue.

It was announced a couple of weeks ago that Alexandra would step down as Editor-in-Chief after 25 years. She has made a huge impact on Vogue over the years and if it wasn’t for her, Vogue wouldn’t be what it is now. She will be greatly missed, not just by colleagues but also fans of the magazine.

Vogue 100

Vogue 100.JPG

I cannot recommend this book enough, it really is an absolute treat. Throughout this book, you get to see some of the greatest moments in the history of fashion, beauty and photography. It includes hundreds of pictures taken over the years for Vogue, some that are well-known and some that have only just been discovered.

As I looked through the book, I was mesmerised by some of the pictures and articles that I had never seen before. My favourite page of the book includes an image of Vogue’s first magazine cover, I couldn’t help but stare at it and notice how far Vogue has come over the 100 years and how it has been shaped by many influential individuals.

The Devil Wears Prada

Devil Wears Prada.JPG

Anyone that knows me, knows how obsessed I am with The Devil Wears Prada. I love the film and I love the book even more.

I first watched the film when it came out in 2006 and I remember telling myself that one day I will have Andrea’s job – I’m now 22 and I’m still waiting for the call, hint hint. I bought the book straight after watching the film and I fell in love with it even more. I know this copy looks like it has rarely been touched, that’s because I lost my first copy so I had to buy another one because I just couldn’t live without it. It is honestly one of the best books I have ever read and ever will read.

As you can tell, I’m obsessed with Vogue and anything fashion. I’d happily sit down with a cuppa and read all of these books on repeat.

Love,
Emily xo

Leave a Reply

