My Make Up Collection

Hello!

Just a warning – this post is a bit of a long one so make sure you are sitting comfy with a cup of tea in hand.

One evening, I was sat looking over at my make up area and I realised how out of control it had become. My make up brushes were in desperate need of a clean and I really needed to have a clear out because half the stuff I had, I didn’t even use. So, I got myself onto Amazon and I ordered some Beauty Drawers to help me organise it all and keep it neat and tidy.

make-up-drawer

As you can see, these drawers aren’t too big or too small, they are the perfect size. The organiser you can see on top of the drawers, I’ve had for years and luckily enough it was a perfect fit to sit on top.

top-of-drawer

The next morning, I got up earlier than usual before work so I could take the time to clean all my make up brushes – thank God I did get up early, it look me an hour and a half! It has definitely taught me to clean them more often than I do.

It is so important for everyone to clean their make up brushes on a regular basis due to the build up of make up and bacteria. If you’re starting to notice that you’re getting more spots, it is normally due the bacteria on the make up brush being put back onto your face and left to sit there for the rest of the day.

I tend to use Johnsons Baby Shampoo when cleaning my make up brushes because it’s a lot more gentle on the bristles of the brushes and leaves them feeling soft and smooth afterwards. I also sometimes use a simple anti-bacterial hand wash  from the supermarket because I’d like to think that it helps to kill off some of the bacteria on the brushes.

Whilst cleaning my brushes and sorting out all my make up, I thought to myself “why not write a post about what I use”. So here it is…

In my first drawer, I have my two Revolution Palettes – blush and eyeshadow.

revolution-palettes

Make Up Revolution Redemption Palette Iconic 3

revolution-eye-shadow-palette

Anyone that knows me, knows I never wear eyeshadow because I just simply can’t get the hang of it but as it’s the New Year, I wanted to try something new out. I didn’t want to spend a fortune on an eyeshadow palette that I would rarely use, so I picked this one up from Superdrug for only £4. I thought it was a great price for the product as you get a lot for your money and it’s still a good quality.

I’ve only tried this product once and because it was such poor lighting at the time, I gave up. I need to dedicate some time to sit down and watch YouTube videos on how to do it properly. If any of you can give me some advice, I would really appreciate it!

Revolution Ultra Blush Palette – Hot Spice

Revolution Blush Palette.JPG

When it comes to blusher, I normally use Coralista from Benefit and I absolutely adore it but I wanted to change things up and see if there are any other products I like for a lot cheaper. This is where this palette came in handy – it’s only £6 and there are 8 different blushers so you get plenty for your money. I’ve only used the one in the bottom right hand corner so far and I’m already in love.

In my next drawer, I have products including a contour kit, an eyebrow kit, blusher and face powder.

Sleek Face Contour Kit – Light

Sleek Contour Kit.JPG

I’ve had this product for a couple of years now and you can clearly tell that I use it every single day. I’ve tried various ranges of contour kits but I always revert back to this one just because nothing matches up to the quality. I find that powdered contour kits work so much better with my skin – I don’t know why, they just do. When using this kit, I pair it with my Urban Decay brush.

Sleek Brow Kit – Dark – I don’t think my brow kit is in “Dark” but it was the only one available on the website. 

sleek-eyebrow-kit

Once again, I’ve had this product for years and I’ve never looked back. It is honestly the best kit I’ve used and I can’t recommend it enough. Some people may not like it, but it works well with my brows so I can’t complain.

Sleek really don’t get enough credit, it’s such a good quality brand and reasonably priced compared to other ranges.

Benefit Erase Paste

Erase Paste Benefit.JPG

I always struggle to find a product that can hide my dark circles under my eyes but Erase Paste works a treat. It brightens my circles up instantly and it’s difficult to see how tired I am actually feeling. The only issue with Benefit is that it is so expensive for the amount of product you get. But thankfully with this product, it lasted me a couple of years as I don’t use a huge amount at a time.

In my third drawer, I have my lipsticks. I use to wear them all the time, but over the years I’ve stopped wearing them and completely forgotten about them. I have so many lipsticks, I didn’t want to bore you with all the photos so I’ve just chosen my two favourites.

favourite-lipsticks

Max Factor Colour Elixir Lipstick – Bewitching Coral 827

L’Oreal Paris Colour Riche Lipstick – Androgyne 130

We all want bigger and plumper lips but are all too scared to go under the knife. So I found a perfect lip enhancer without all the pain. Manuka Doctor ApiRefine Lip Enhancer is a great substitute. You don’t have any of the pain, you just have a slight tingling feeling and that’s it, you’ve got plumper lips in ten seconds.

Manuka Doctor Lip Enhancer.JPG

In my final drawer, it is all foundations and concealers. Some that I use regularly and some that are my back ups.

Maybelline Fit Me Foundation – Natural Ivory 105

Fit Me Foundation.JPG

I have so many problems with my skin – one minute it’s dry and the next it’s oily. I find this foundation goes really well with my difficult skin. It doesn’t dry it out and it conceals how oily it is so it’s the best of both worlds. I also find that this foundation fits my skin colour perfectly, it doesn’t leave me with an orange face and a white neck. When applying this foundation, I use my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush.

L’Oreal Paris Lumi Magique Highlighter – Light

Loreal Lumi.JPG

Like I said earlier, I struggle to find something to cover up my dark circles. Lumi Magique works so well with my Erase Paste. I don’t know how or why they work well together, but they do.

Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer – Fair

Collection Lasting Perfection.JPG

After hearing so many good reviews on this product, I just had to give it a go. I was so surprised to find that all of the reviews were spot on about how fantastic this product is. It really does cover every imperfection you can find and make you skin look so much more flawless. It is a great price compared to other products in the shops at the moment. I cannot recommend this product enough!!

Rimmel Match Perfection Loose Powder – Translucent

Rimmel Loose Face Powder.JPG

This is another product I’ve been using religiously for the past couple of years. I’ve never tried any other product as I’ve been so happy with this one so unfortunately, I’m unable to compare it to any. One downside is that it makes such a mess, always ends up all over my trousers or top.

Right, so there you have it, the products I use and swear by. I really hope I’ve persuaded you to go out and invest.

Please leave comments below on what you use and any tips!

Love,
Emily xo

3 thoughts on “My Make Up Collection

Leave a Reply

