IT’S CHRISTMASSSSSS!

It’s finally Christmas in my house!

We have a family tradition that we are only allowed to put the Christmas tree and decorations up when it’s 12th December. The main reason for this is because it’s my mums birthday on the 12th and she won’t accept that it’s Christmas until after her birthday. However, if the 12th falls midweek, we put it up the weekend before – just like we did yesterday.

One of my favourite things is going to the garden centre and picking the right tree out. I always make sure that the tree is even on both sides and there are not too many gaps and of course I make sure that it smells amazing because there is honestly nothing better than coming home to the house smelling of Christmas tree.

It’s always so much fun putting the tree up, we put the same Christmas CD on every year and we all sing and dance along. It’s a real family affair, we all try to be home to decorate together but some years it’s not possible. I have two brothers and they both live away from home – one in Plymouth and one in Crawley so it’s quite a journey for both of them to come up just to decorate the tree. This year it was down to me, my boyfriend and my parents and I think we did a pretty good job if I do say so myself.

christmas-tree

I know our tree looks a bit mix and match with the decorations but there is a reason behind that. Me and my two brothers received decorations from a family friend every year until we turned 16. They all had notes saying “From our Christmas Tree, to yours” which is a really sweet idea I think, it gave us something extra to look forward to at Christmas time. My brother who lives in Plymouth has taken the majority of his 16 decorations so it’s just left with mine and my other brothers decorations. I tried to hide the ones channeling the 1990’s at the back but my dad managed to move them to the front.

santas-little-helper

Anyone that knows me knows how much I love and adore my dog. She’s my best friend and I can’t imagine a life without her. Even if you aren’t a dog lover, you have to admit how adorable she looks in her “Santa’s Little Helper” bib I got for her.She melts my heart every single day but this photo just makes me burst with love. I mean come on, how can you say she doesn’t look adorable?

I’ll upload plenty more photos of the house when I get the chance!

Love,
Emily xo

 

 

Leave a Reply

