Chocolate Cake with a surprise buttercream

As I’m tucked up in bed dreaming of feeling better, I decided to write a post on a cake I made a few weeks ago.

It’s a basic chocolate sponge cake, I decided to change the buttercream up by adding chocolate covered popping candy. It added an element of surprise as most people that tried the cake were not expecting to have popping candy in the centre. To decorate I used Cadbury’s Chocolate Fingers round the edge of the cake with crushed Maltesers on top.

You can’t beat a classic chocolate sponge, but I thought I’d take a risk and change it up a bit, it was 100% worth it and I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

Chocolate Cake with Crushed Maltesers and Chocolate Fingers.JPG

The recipe I used for this cake is usually for a classic Victoria Sponge but I adapted it to make a chocolate cake. I’ve been using this for years so it’s got to be good, right?

Ingredients:

  • 175g (6oz) English Butter
  • 175g (6oz) Caster Sugar
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 175g (6oz) Self-Raising Flour

When making a Chocolate Sponge you need to remove 3 level tablespoons of Self Raising Flour and add 3 level tablespoons of Cocoa Powder.

Method:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 190c
  • Butter two 18cm (7inch) sandwich tins and sprinkle with plain flour, ensuring the whole tin is covered – including the sides. You don’t want your delicious cake to stick to the sides!
  • Beat the butter and caster sugar together until pale and fluffy. Add the eggs a little at a time, beating well after each addition.
  • Fold in half the flour and cocoa powder, using a metal spoon, then fold in the rest.
  • Place half the mixture in each tin and level with a knife.
  • Put both tins in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes until they are well risen and bounce back up when lightly pressed in the middle.
  • Once cooled, remove cakes from the tin and place onto a cooling rack.

Whilst the cake is cooling, you can start making the buttercream icing. For this you will need:

  • 8oz Icing Sugar
  • 4oz Butter
  • 2 tablespoon Cocoa Powder

Method:

  • Cream the butter until light and fluffy.
  • Add the icing sugar and cocoa powder until smooth.

I took about 4 tablespoons worth of the icing and placed it in a seperate bowl so I could add the chocolate covered popping candy. I only used 4tbsp because I only wanted to have the popping candy in the centre but you can of course add it to the whole of the mixture so you can have it round the whole cake.

I flipped one of the sponges upside down so it was flat side up, this provided me with a flat surface to add the buttercream. ChocolateCakeFilling.jpg

I then placed the remaining sponge on top and started to cover the rest of the cake with the left over buttercream. I ensured there were no gaps around the side or on the top as I needed to make sure the Chocolate Fingers would stick.

Once the cake was covered in buttercream, I started decorating the sides with Chocolate Fingers ensuring they were close together and holding up well. Once this was completed, I crushed a bag of Maltesers with a rolling pin, I wanted to make sure they were crushed enough but also so I had a few still in one piece. I then sprinkled the Maltesers all over the top and thanks to the Chocolate Fingers making a little fence around the cake, the Maltesers can’t escape!

Just a tip – keep it in the fridge; the buttercream could end up going soft in a warm environment which could lead to the chocolate fingers slipping off.

So there it is, an amazing cake to make and eat!

Now go get baking!!

Love,
Emily xo

One thought on “Chocolate Cake with a surprise buttercream

Leave a Reply

